生产过程

纯枫糖浆是通过加热和蒸发的过程浓缩糖槭树稍甜树液制成

在春天,随着天二月底或三月初变得更长和温暖,我们从便道清除积雪和堕落四肢准备枫林。然后,我们建立了我们的SAP收集系统。

虽然没有设定时间,挖掘我们的枫树,我们仔细观察的迹象“制糖天气。”较温和的白天气温将融化的积雪,而夜晚是零度以下。这是使液流天气。这是当我们开始挖掘我们的树。通常情况下,我们的制糖季从4到6个星期持续。

tapping-smTapping maple trees攻丝枫树树木友好型“健康嘴”,钻探约齐腰高较小SAP承载孔。所述的管口被窃听到该孔,当温度上升到高于冰点,树液流经喷管并通过管道系统来收集箱进行。一个典型的树将超过12英寸直径和有一个或两个抽头。每个螺孔将产生约10加仑汁液,足以让有关枫糖浆的一夸脱。我们挖掘的树木每个人至少有40岁,是在良好的健康。七代巴斯科姆农民家庭已采取了非常谨慎的不危及我们的枫树的健康和福祉。我们的一些树木超过300岁,超过6英尺,直径。

healthspout-sm当树木被窃听和所有的设备已经准备就绪,我们已经准备好了“首次运行” – 新赛季的第一次当SAP开始流动。通常情况下,SAP是含有约1-4%的糖清晰,略带甜味的液体。无严寒的夜晚,或长时间热烈的法术低于冻结温度,天长时间将停止液流。当条件重新变得有利,流动恢复,另有SAP“运行”开始。

为了生产出最优质的枫糖浆,汁液被送到我们的巴斯科姆家庭农场糖厂大型储油罐然后流入蒸发器我们并尽快蒸发。

蒸发器是没有多大改变多年来级加热(或木杆燃油)平底锅。当水被蒸发掉时,液体变得更甜(更浓缩),并开始向盘的前部移动。这是我们看到沸腾的汁液转金。我们经常检查沸腾液体的温度。当达到以上水的沸点7F度,它已成为枫糖浆。什么是98%水和2%的糖现在是33%的水和67%的糖。香喷喷的蒸汽从糖厂上升是一个明确的信号,以人(和好奇的熊)的制糖季正如火如荼!

当完成煮浆被抽出油锅,它被过滤并包装。根据某些与天气有关的变量,SAP产量40加仑约1加仑纯枫糖浆。

How Pure Maple Syrup is Made

Pure maple syrup is made by concentrating the slightly sweet sap of the sugar maple tree through a process of heating and evaporation.

In spring, as the days become longer and warmer in late February or early March, we prepare the sugarbush by clearing the snow and fallen limbs from access roads. Then, we set up our sap collection systems.

While there is no set time to tap our maples, we watch carefully for the signs of “sugaring weather.” The milder daytime temperatures bring melting snows, while the nights are below freezing. This is the weather that makes the sap flow. This is when we begin to tap our trees. Normally, our sugaring season lasts from 4 to 6 weeks.

tapping-smTapping maple trees with tree-friendly “health spouts” involves drilling smaller sap-carrying holes about waist high. A spout is tapped into this hole and when the temperature rises above freezing, the sap flows through the spout and is carried by a tubing system to collection tanks. A typical tree will be more than 12 inches in diameter and have one or two taps. Each tap hole will yield about 10 gallons of sap, enough to make about a quart of maple syrup. Every one of the trees we tap is at least 40 years old and is in excellent health. Seven generations of Bascom Family Farmers have taken great care as not to endanger the health and well-being of our maple trees. Some of our trees are over 300 years old and more than 6 feet in diameter.

healthspout-smWhen the trees have been tapped and all the equipment is ready, we are ready for the “first run” — the first time of the new season when the sap begins to flow. Typically, the sap is a clear, slightly sweet liquid containing about 1- 4% sugar. Prolonged periods of below freezing temperatures, days without freezing nights, or prolonged warm spells will stop the sap flow. When conditions become favorable again, the flow resumes, and another sap “run” begins.

To produce the finest quality maple syrup, the sap is taken to large storage tanks in our Bascom Family Farms sugarhouse then flows into our evaporator and is evaporated as soon as possible.

Evaporators are level heated (wood- or oil-fired) pans that have changed little over the years. As the water is boiled off, the liquid becomes sweeter (more concentrated), and begins to move towards the front of the pan. This is where we see the boiling sap turn golden. We frequently check the temperature of the boiling liquid. When it reaches 7F degrees above water’s boiling point, it has become maple syrup. What was 98% water and 2% sugar is now 33% water and 67% sugar. The sweet-smelling steam rising from the sugarhouse is a sure sign to people (and curious bears) that the sugar-making season is in full swing!

When the finished boiling syrup is drawn off the pan, it is filtered, and packaged. Depending on certain weather-related variables, 40 gallons of sap yield about one gallon of pure maple syrup.Save

Save